About Kyushu

An island located in the southwestern part of Japan

The Kyushu region is made up of the island of Kyushu, located southwest of the Japanese archipelago, and the small islands that surround it. Its area is 42,231 km2, the same as Bourgogne-Franche-Comté. Kyushu comprises the prefectures of Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Oita, Kumamoto, Miyazaki and Kagoshima, with a population of approximately 12.77 million inhabitants, which is equivalent to the population of Île-de-France.

A warm and active agriculture and
cattle area of Japan
Kyushu is a relatively warm climate region in Japan and this makes it an ideal place to produce very high quality products. Agriculture, fishing and forestry are well balanced and widely distributed in each county of Kyushu, and the value of product shipments is also significant. Agricultural production accounts for about 20% of Japan’s total amount, making it one of the country’s agricultural breadbaskets. Also, as the region is close to the Asian mainland, it is one of the oldest historical regions in Japan and is known as the birthplace of many Japanese cultures.